DIM Filipino Food

20130630-144256.jpg

We have here a familiar Filipino comfort food: nilagang manok ( chicken stew), I cooked myself. I would have called it Tinolang Manok, but the ingredients are different and even the chicken parts, so let me just call it nilaga.

The vegetable added is usually an unripe papaya, but it is not easy to find that in Taiwan. So I used cabbage. In the Ilocandia Region of the Philippines, they usually use ampalaya (bitter gourd) leaves.

Usually also, they the cook the whole chicken, so you’d find many chicken parts like legs and breasts. I made do with only drumettes.

Not bad at all.

One response to “DIM Filipino Food

  1. Pingback: Black Chicken, Tinola | Mock My Food·

Leave a Reply

